As part of annual Homecoming activities, Hinds Community College on Oct. 2 hosted the 50+ luncheon for graduates 50 years ago and from prior years. About 30 alumni gathered at Fountain Hall to reminisce. Former Alumnus of the Year honoree Dean Liles (1961) presented a copy of the first Hinds Junior College yearbook from 1927, then called the Hindsonian, to Hinds President Dr. Clyde Muse.

Graduates from the 1940s were Freida Bolton Cook of Utica (1949), left, and Sarah Tullos Allen (1948) of Raymond.

Representing the Class of 1969 were, from left, Larry Galloway of Raymond, Flavia Etheridge Overman of Vicksburg, Irza Hollingsworth Calloway of Crystal Springs, Becky Parrette Brasfield of Vicksburg; back, Larry DeMuth of Raymond, Len Bobo of Columbus; Eddie Carson of Raymond, Jerry Calloway of Crystal Springs and Hinds President Dr. Clyde Muse.

Graduates of the 1960s classes were, front from left, Sara Hulsell Jenkins (1961) of Jackson, Charles Brasfeild (1967) of Vicksburg, Dr. Lynn Weathersby (1966) of Florence; back, Warrene Hand Holliday (1962) of Terry, Louise Flanagan (1960) of Raymond, Alice Shuff Connelly (1963) of Raymond, Johnny Franklin (1964) of Bolton, Dean Liles (1961) of Plano, Texas, Nancy Chapman Walter (1960) of Terry and J.W. Barnes (1964) of Pelahatchie.

Graduates from the 1950s who attended were, from left, Martha Ferguson (1956) of Raymond, Martha Oberhousen (1958) Dallas, Texas; Mark Chaney (1950) of Vicksburg; Margarita Morris Stanford (1958) of Clinton, back, Bill Ferguson (1960) of Learned, Robert Seawright (1958) of Madison, David Barton (1959) of Raymond, Ronald Melancon (1959) of Poplarville, Douglas Moore (1954) of Jackson, Buddy McKay (1959) of Jackson.



Did you enjoy this article?

Share with your family and friends!