April 21, 2023

Utica Campus recognizes student awardees

Hinds CC's Utica Campus recognized students with the inaugural Walter Washington Achievement Awards.
BY: Cathy Hayden

Above: From left, Anahja Reed of Jackson, Stanley Reed of Utica, Destiny Oscar of Jackson, Kalundria MaGee of Utica, Omarion Luss of Clinton, Madelne Jones of Utica, Tiara Jackson of Terry, Joya Hughes of Jackson, Epiphany Hobbs of Southaven, Ezekiel Harris of Canton.

This award is earned by students who, like Dr. Walter Washington, strive for academic excellence, civic engagement and who are making a series of steps to lay the foundation for future Utica Campus students.

Washington was the first African-American to receive a doctorate in Mississippi. He was president of what was then Utica Junior College for 12 years, from 1957–1969, before serving as president of Alcorn State University from 1969–1994.

Above: From left, Iayesha Evans of Utica, Shymaya Dixon of Utica, Isaiah Fultz of Hazlehurst, Lauren Gatlin of Jackson and Elizabeth Moss of Waynesboro.