The Utica Campus Alpha Beta Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) held its 39th induction ceremony recently that included five student and five honorary inductees. The ceremonial theme was “The Culture of Competition.”




Honorees and advisers include, front from left, Christine Councell of Vicksburg, an early childhood education major; Kimwanna Terry of Utica, a general studies/medical assistant technology major; Beverly Trimble, PTK adviser; Kenjamin Newsome of Hazlehurst, an electronics technology major; Mildred Davis of Raymond, an early childhood education major; Von Shinnie of Jackson, Alpha Beta Xi president, a computer technology major; PTK adviser Denise Taylor and LeKeyo Tyler of Port Gibson, an electronics technology major; back, honorary members Dr. Bobby Cooper, Humanities Division chair; Deborah Danner, computer science instructor; Dr. Mae C. Jackson, Math and Science Division chair, Dr. Debra Mays-Jackson, vice president for Utica and Vicksburg-Warren campuses/Administrative Services, and former PTK president Ollie Riley Jr.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters worldwide. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

For more information, see

Did you enjoy this article?

Share with your family and friends!