April 12, 2019

Hinds CC Phi Theta Kappa chapters win honors at international convention

Raymond and Rankin chapters awarded
BY: Danny Barrett Jr.

RAYMOND – Students and advisors in two chapters of Phi Theta Kappa honor society at Hinds Community College took home awards at the organization’s international convention April 4-7 in Orlando, Fla.

Emily Hudgens, of Madison, president of the Gamma Lambda Chapter on the Raymond Campus, was named Distinguished Chapter Officer. Addison Bridges, of Clinton, won Distinguished Chapter Member. The advisor team of Tim Krason, Jack Hite, Debbie McCollum, Cheryl Bozeman, and Leslie Moak won the Distinguished Advisor Team Award. The honor marks the fourth straight year the chapter has won the award.

The Alpha Omicron Omega chapter at the Rankin Campus won a Distinguished College Project Award for collaborating with the college’s Student Recreation Department in planning and installing a disc golf course on the campus. Also, Rankin Campus Vice President Dr. Norman Session was named a Distinguished College Administrator for his support of Phi Theta Kappa members and programs on his campus.

Phi Theta Kappa membership is extended to students with a 3.5 cumulative GPA on at least 12 hours of college-transfer credit coursework earned at Hinds. Students who reach this benchmark by the end of this semester may still join PTK. Members can take advantage of leadership, scholarship, service and fellowship opportunities within their chapters.  At transfer, all of Mississippi’s public and private colleges and universities award generous, non-competitive scholarships to members. For more information, please contact 601.857.3531 or 601.857.3837.