Culinary Arts

Culinary Arts

About

The Culinary Arts Technology concentration provides a solid foundation in the methods and science of cooking through exposure to classical, American, and international cuisine, as well as the art of baking and pastries. Special emphasis is placed on culinary tools, equipment, techniques, and specialty ingredients. The heart of the Culinary Arts Technology program is hands-on lab instruction by a chef instructor in a commercial kitchen.

Students will have and be responsible for their tool/knife kit, and will be given full access to a variety of commercial kitchen equipment including convection ovens, commercial ranges, large-scale mixers, pizza/stone ovens, steamers, pasta rollers, warmers, ice-cream makers, and more. Successful completion of of the 2-year program leads to an Associate of Applied Science degree in Culinary Arts. In addition, students completing this program will be eligible to obtain ServSafe Sanitation certification from the National Restaurant Association.

Industry Partnerships

  • Mangia Bene Inc. Restaurant Mgmt. Group (BRAVO!, Broad Street, Sal & Mookie’s, SoulCity Hospitality)
  • EatHere Brands (Babalu, Table 100, Interim)
  • Hal & Mal’s (scholarship opportunity)
  • Chic-Fil-A
  • Sonic
  • Waffle House
  • Valley Services (Nationwide)
  • Ruth’s Chris
  • Yellowstone National Park

Courses Are Offered At These Locations

Jackson ATC
Rankin
Utica
Vicksburg

Online
Courses for this program are also offered online

Curriculum

For a complete list of courses, please see our college catalog.

Contact

Jackson ATC
Austin Lee
District Director of Culinary Arts Institute
Austin.Lee@hindscc.edu
601-987-8155

Sally Porter
SMPorter@hindscc.edu
P: 601-987-8130

Rankin
Sara Steen
Sara.Steen@hindscc.edu
P: 601-936-1871

Utica
Stacy Adams
Stacy.Adams@hindscc.edu
P: 601-885-7114

Vicksburg
Matthew Campbell
Matthew.Campbell@hindscc.edu
P: 601-629-6857

Sedrick Lilley
Sedrick.Lilley@hindscc.edu
P: 601-629-6857

Request More Information for Culinary Arts