GED® Test at a Glance


The GED® test is a four-subject high school equivalency test that measures skills required by high schools and requested by colleges and employers. The four subjects are: Reasoning Through Language Arts (RLA), Mathematical Reasoning, Science and Social Studies.

Reasoning Through Language Arts (150 minutes)
The Language Arts (RLA) test focuses on three groupings of skills:

  • The ability to read closely
  • The ability to write clearly
  • The ability to edit and understand the use of standard written English in context

Mathematical Reasoning (115 minutes)
The Mathematical Reasoning test focuses on two major content domains:

  • Quantitative Problem Solving (45%)
  • Algebraic Problem Solving (55%)

Science (90 minutes)
The Science test focuses on three major content domains:

  • Life Science (40%)
  • Physical Science (40%)
  • Earth and Space Science (20%)

Social Studies (70 minutes)
The Social Studies test focuses on four major content domains:

  • Civics and Government (50%)
  • United States History (20%)
  • Economics (15%)
  • Geography and the World (15%)

Standard Scores
Effective January 2016, the passing score for each GED® subject area has moved from 150 to 145, and is retroactive to January 1, 2014.  

The GED® test performance levels are:

  • Below Passing (Score of 100 – 144)   
  • Pass/High School Equivalency  (Score of 145 – 164)      
  • GED College Ready  (Score of 165 – 174)                        
  • GED College Ready + Credit  (Score of 175 – 200)

For more information about these changes, follow the link below: