Reading and Education

The Reading and Education offices are located in Moss Hall #221 through #228 on the Raymond Campus. The main office on the Raymond campus is open from 8 AM. to 4 PM, Monday through Friday during the academic year. Reading and Education courses are taught at all Hinds campuses. Please contact individual instructors for office hours.

Mission

  • Provide instruction for those students whose placement scores indicate that that they need to refine the reading and study skills necessary for success in college.

  • Maintain a close relationship with the state senior colleges and the State Department for Education so that we can advise those students pursuing education as a career as to the prerequisites at each senior college and also the tests required by the State Department for entering the education program and for certification as a teacher.

  • Provide skills for excellence to honors students.

  • Provide support in the areas of study habits, time management, motivation and academic skills to probationary students.

Faculty

Mrs. Paula Wimbish, Department Chair
PGWimbish@hindscc.edu
857-3465

Mrs. Dale Haralson
DSHaralson@hindscc.edu
857-3829

Mrs. Nancy Finklea
NWFinklea@hindscc.edu
857-3375

Mrs. Melissa Woods
MSWoods@hindscc.edu
857-3789

Ms. Vanda Brumfield
Vanda.Brumfield@hindscc.edu
857-3464

Mrs. Jennifer Rodgers
Jennifer.Rodgers@hindscc.edu
857-3463


Reading/Education Department
Hinds Community College
P.O. Box 1100
Raymond, MS 39154-1100