GED® Test at a Glance

The 2014 GED® test is a four-subject high school equivalency test that measures skills required by high schools and requested by colleges and employers. The four subjects are: Reasoning Through Language Arts (RLA), Mathematical Reasoning, Science and Social Studies.

Reasoning Through Language Arts (150 minutes)                                                                                               
The Language Arts (RLA) test focuses on three groupings of skills:

  • The ability to read closely
  • The ability to write clearly
  • The ability to edit and understand the use of standard written English in context

Mathematical Reasoning (115 minutes)   
The Mathematical Reasoning test focuses on two major content domains:

  • Quantitative Problem Solving (45%)
  • Algebraic Problem Solving (55%)

Science (90 minutes)                                                                                                                                                 
The Science test focuses on three major content domains:

  • Life Science (40%)
  • Physical Science (40%)
  • Earth and Space Science (20%)  

Social Studies (90 minutes)                                                                                                                                          
The Social Studies test focuses on four major content domains:

  • Civics and Government (50%)
  • United States History (20%)
  • Economics (15%)
  • Geography and the World (15%)

Standard Scores
The GED® test requires a score of at least 150 on each subject and a total score of 600 across the four-subject battery in order to receive the GED® test credential. You may also earn an “Honors” score if you receive a score of 170 on a test part.  

  • Below Passing: 100 – 149
  • Passing Score: 150 – 169
  • Honors Passing Score: 170 – 200

For more information, contact Ms. Shelia Thompson at 601.987.8763.